Friday Favorites: Fresh Corn (In Your Oven?!?!)

8 Aug

FRIDAY Favorites

Sorry for the long delay in a Friday Favorites post! I have been soaking up time with my family this summer, so blogging hasn’t been as frequent. With our school year starting back next week, I am hoping to get back into a rhythm of posting Friday Favorites and What We’re Reading Wednesdays.

Today’s Friday Favorites post is my new favorite way to cook fresh corn. My friend, Ashley, introduced this corn-on-the-cob cooking method to me last summer, and our family has jumped ship from the traditional means of cooking corn. Grant it, this is not the fastest way to cook corn on the cob, but the proof is in the pudding, or rather, in the bites of yummy, plump, juicy corn kernels.

fresh corn

Corn On The Cob (In the Oven!)

Ingredients:

Fresh corn, unshucked and silks trimmed*

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Place desired number of ears of corn directly on oven rack.

3) Bake for 30 minutes.

4) At the conclusion of 30 minutes, turn oven off and leave corn in the oven 5 additional minutes. This allows the corn to steam cook.

*I found out the hard way that it is best to trim the silks. The first time I whipped us up a batch of fresh corn in this manner I left the silks on. After about ten minutes, my kitchen was filled with smoke! Inadvertently, a few of the silks had fallen onto the oven’s heating element and created a smoky scene, so by all means, don’t do that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

